The Records and Assessment Department requires an appointment for getting a Marriage License.
Please call 541-386-4522 to schedule an appointment.

 Marriage Licenses

Marriage licenses can be purchased from any County in the State of Oregon and used in any County in the State of Oregon.  You can either complete the Hood River County Marriage License application form online or in person.  If you apply online, you will still need to make an appointment and visit our office in person to complete the license process. 

Marriage License applications are processed on weekdays, from 9:00 am - 11:30 am and 1:05 pm to 3:30 pm by appointment only. 

License Fees
The fee for a marriage license and commemorative marriage certificate in Hood River County is $50 and is payable at the time your application is processed.  We accept cash, check, money orders, and Visa, MasterCard, or Discover.  There is an additional 3% convenience fee for all debit and credit card transactions. 

License Conditions 

  • Age Requirement:  The legal age for marriage in the State of Oregon is eighteen years-of-age.  A seventeen year-old can be married if they have the parent's or guardian’s consent.  Consent forms are available in our office.
  • Waiting Period:  Regardless of whether you submit your marriage license application on-line or complete it in our office, there is a three-day waiting period from the day the license is issued until it can be used.  You can use the marriage date calculator with the on-line application to determine when you will need to obtain your license.
  • General Information:  There are no exceptions or waivers to the license fee.  No extensions or refunds are made once the license is issued.  The license is good to use anywhere in the State of Oregon for 60 days from the effective date.
  • Legal Names Taken:  Both applicants will need to identify on the application the legal names they will be taking after the marriage.
  • Medical Examinations:  Medical examinations and blood tests are no longer required by the State of Oregon in order to obtain a marriage license.

Issuance after a Divorce
A marriage license cannot become valid until the day after a divorce is final.  The final divorce date is required on the marriage license application.  The three-day waiting period is still required from the date of application until the license can be used.

How much time will it take?
Please allow approximately 15 minutes to obtain a marriage license when you complete the marriage application on-line or approximately 25 minutes if the application is completed in our office.  These times are approximate and are dependent on staffing levels, counter traffic, and computer availability.

What to bring?

  • Photo ID
  • Method of payment

What you will need to know?

  • Both applicants mother's maiden name.
  • The location where the applicant's parents were born.
  • Social security number for both applicants.
  • If previously married, the date the divorce became final.
  • If widowed, the date of spouses death.

County Clerks, Judges, Justices of the Peace, and persons authorized by a religious or secular congregation or organization may perform a marriage ceremony.   Ceremonies are required to be performed in the presense of at least two witnesses.  An appointment for a civil marriage ceremony performed by the County Clerk can be made by calling 541-387-6854. The fee for a ceremony performed by the Hood River County Clerk is $117.

Certified Copy
Once the marriage has taken place and the completed marriage license is returned to the County Clerk, an official “certified” copy of the license can be issued.  The fee for a certified copy is $7.75 and can be purchased either with the marriage license or at a later time.  If a certified copy is purchased with the license, it will be mailed to you after the completed marriage license is received by the County Clerk.  The certified document is considered a “legal” copy, and can be used to change a name on such items as a driver’s license or social security card.